S&D Finals (Sunday)

HBC’s ladies went to Westlecot to compete in four finals and came away from the day’s events 50% successful. Joanna Hicks missed out in her Champion of Champions decider whilst Linda Young retained her 2-Wood Singles crown for the third successive year.

In the Charity Triples, the combination of Sue McCormack, Ashlee Lin and Deanne Davis found the Purton trio skipped by Alison Fail just too good on the day,

Linda made it a double for her day when she skipped Maggie Jordan, Deanne and Jo to victory over a Charlie Godwin skipped team from Wootton Bassett in the Fours.

Congratulations and commiserations in equal measure then but there’s promise of more to come in future.


2019 S&D Finals (Saturday)

Highworth were well represented on the first day of this year’s S&D Finals Weekend, held at Shrivenham, with seven titles up for grabs. In the Under-25s it was Highworth vs Highworth with David Murray facing off against Sean Etherington and David taking the spoils. Mark Richman maintained his hold on the Officers’ Trophy, winning it for the fourth consecutive year,

Disappointingly, that was as good as it got, title-wise, so it was commiserations and the runners-up spot for HBCs other participants.

However, all are to be congratulated on getting to the finals in the first place and hopefully, next year, they can go one better.



2019 Club Finals

The 2019 Club Competition Finals were held on the weekend of 7th & 8th of September.

Congratulations to all the winners, commiserations to the runners-up, and many thanks to Competition Secretary Stuart Murray and all who organised, assisted, marked or supported the events over the weekend.

Competition Winner(s) Runner(s) Up
Men’s Singles Kieron Pollock Shaun Hicks
Men’s Handicap Singles David Murray Keith Latimer
Men’s Sportsman Singles Stuart Murray Keith Latimer
Men’s Over 60 Singles Keith Latimer John Jordan
Men’s 2 Wood Singles David Murray Ian Dandy
Ladies 4 Wood Singles Linda Young Deanne Davis
Ladies 2 Wood Singles Deanne Davis Joanna Hicks
Ladies Jubilee Plate Sue McCormack
Heather Pollock
Under 31 Singles David Murray Joanna Hicks
Mixed Singles Linda Young
Shaun Hicks
Beginners’ Trophy Sue McCormack
Michael Eckert
Men’s Pairs Rob Etherington
Kevin Brown
John White
Stuart Murray
Ladies Pairs Tricia Pearce
Joanna Hicks
Sue McCormack
Ashlee Lin
Mixed Pairs Shaun Hicks
Joanna Hicks
Ashlee Lin
Bob Clements
Men’s Triples Mick Woolmer
Ian Barrett
David Murray
Bob Wilson
Richard Charlton
Stuart Murray
Ladies Triples Ashlee Lin
Elaine White
Joanna Hicks
Maggie Jordan
Tricia Pearce
Deanne Davis
Friday Afternoon Triples Heather Pollock
Bob Clements
Simon Cove
Andrew Wicks
Evening Mixed League Jean Renno
Martin Hope
Keith Latimer
Gerald Vincent


Evening League Winners Take Title Early

Congratulations to Team E, comprising Jean Renno, Martin Hope, Keith Latimer & Gerry Vincent, who won this year’s Evening Triples League competition with a record of 12 wins and 1 draw from their 15 matches. Whilst the league was effectively won with three matches to play, it wasn’t until the completion of the final round of matches that they were able to get their hands on the trophy.

Unfortunately, Jean wasn’t on hand to receive the trophy, presented by Club President, Chris Hidden. Thanks to Josie Etherington & Paul Barrow for organizing & running the competition and thanks also to Ashlee Lin for the photo.

Highworth come unstuck in Wiltshire Semis

It was always going to be a hard task to reach the final of the men’s Wiltshire 4-rink competition, but having surprised Holt last weekend to reach the semis, Highworth found the task of dislodging Royal Wootton Bassett, in their semi-final clash at Westlecot, a mountain too high, going down 59 – 95.

Pictures below kindly supplied by Ashlee Lin.


Holt halted by HBC Men in Wiltshire QFs

A huge well done to HBC’s men who went to Holt and pulled off a win in their Wiltshire quarter-final play-off match.

Three winning rinks and a narrow loss on the fourth saw the guys record a 79 – 69 win.

Wootton Bassett now await in the semi-final to be played on Sunday 1st September, venue to be confirmed.